2010 Awards in Regional Thinking & Action

At the 2010 Summit, CRT was proud to give two great regional leaders the 2010 CRT Awards for Regional Thinking and Action.  One for the public sector and one private sector.

The Honorable Karl Dean, Mayor of Nashville/Davidson County was recognized for his tremendous contribution to Regionalism as our 2010 public sector recipient.   At the 2009 Regional Summit, he called for the formation of the Middle Tennessee Mayors Caucus and the Transit Alliance of Middle Tennessee, which are providing important organizational capacity in focused effort in regional transit system development.  Mayor Dean is also providing critical leadership to our top regional issues ofTransportation/Transit,  Open Space Conservation and Economic Competitiveness by Chairing or sponsoring the Nashville Area MPO, the Davidson County Open Space Plan and the Nashville Chamber Partnership 2010 initiative.
Sam Hatcher,  Cumberland Region Tomorrow Regional Communication Chair was recognized for his tremendous contribution toRegionalism as our 2010 private sector recipient.  Sam Hatcher is a recognized regional newspaper Owner and Editor who supportsRegionalism throughout our ten counties in both print and related media.  Upon joining the CRT Board of Directors in 2008, he took the lead as Chair of the CRT Regional Communications Committee and organized a team of leaders and professionals that created and launched our region’s POWER OF TEN brand.  Sam Hatcher also serves on the Regional Summit Coordination Team, the CRT Executive Committee,  and is a key leader in our Public/Private Partnership with the Nashville MPO and other key organizations.


Stay Connected to the Region

Sign up for our Power of Ten Newsletter so you can stay informed on issues affecting our region.